I avoided takeaways… YAY!

So the other night after guiltily sitting at my mums place watching the VMA’s till nearly 6.30 (oops sorry kids) as I was driving home I started to think hmm takeaways would be good I could feed the kids get them to bed and it would just all be so easy! Well that’s what the old me (yep after just two weeks I have decided I am the new and improved Hayley) would have done.  Takeaways are easy, quick, smell delicious and often don’t taste horribly … oh alright I love the taste which is partly the way I am now haha.  But we all know that there is NO WAY that takeaways are filled with only real food, that just isn’t going to happen, so I dragged my but home and decided to whip up a Asian Salmon Cakes recipe I found in all my blog trawling last week.  I thought I would share the recipe with you all because it was quick and tasty and if Mr 4 will eat it without any arguments or comments it is a definite winner in my book. 😀

Asian Salmon Cakes

Ingredients
Dipping Sauce
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons lime juice
  • 3 tablespoons coriander, plus extra for garnish
Fish Cakes
  • 450g salmon, cooked or leftover and shredded with a fork (make sure the grey part of the salmon and the skin are both removed)
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 tablespoons thinly sliced spring onions
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream (helps hold the cake together prior to cooking)
  • ⅓ cup whole-grain breadcrumbs
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • ½ teaspoon toasted sesame oil
  • Olive oil or ghee (clarified butter) for cooking
Instructions
Dipping Sauce
  1. In a small bowl, mix together the sour cream, soy sauce, lime juice, and coriander for the dipping sauce. Cover and refrigerate until the salmon cakes are ready.
Salmon Cakes
  1. In a medium bowl, thoroughly combine the cooked, shredded salmon with the eggs, green onions, sour cream, bread crumbs, soy sauce, and sesame oil.
  2. Begin forming the cakes by taking a handful of the mixture into your hands. Squeeze it together and discard any excess liquid that comes out. Flatten the cake and place it on an empty plate until all have been formed.
  3. Set a large sauté pan over medium-low heat and add a thin layer of olive oil or ghee. Once the pan is warm, cook the fish cakes (in batches if necessary) until golden brown, about 3 to 5 minutes on each side. Serve warm with dipping sauce and extra cilantro for garnish.

Notes:

  • I personally used tinned salmon because we all know how dare fresh salmon is in New Zealand.  It did require a little more breadcrumbs as it was quite wet from using tinned, although I was just careful with them when I cooked them and they mostly held together fine.
  • I would also add a  little fresh chilli next time just for a little bit more of a Asian flavour.

I found this recipe on http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/ which I found full of super helpful hints and tips on eating a real food diet.  It also had plenty of great family recipes that I am looking forward to trying out.  So definitely pop on over and check out Lisa’s website 😀

Asian Salmon Cakes with dipping sauce and salad.

Asian Salmon Cakes with dipping sauce and salad.

Mr 4 thought these were great, so they were a big winner for me!

Mr 4 thought these were great, so they were a big winner for me!

Mr 4 thought these were great, so they were a big winner for me!

Mr 4 thought these were great, so they were a big winner for me!

So definitely whip these up and let me know if you all enjoyed them as much as this ratbag, is most definitely better than caving to takeaways!

 

H. xx

One thought on “I avoided takeaways… YAY!

Leave a Reply

